November 2020

Quality Open Access Marker - QOAM – started in 2013 as a private initiative of two volunteers, Leo Waaijers ( and Saskia de Vries. As of April 8th, 2019 it is a foundation under Dutch law. Currently, QOAM is affiliated with the Centre of Science and Technolgy Studies of the Leiden University.


Chair: Johan Rooryck, professor of French litature at the University of Leiden, Open Access Champion for Plan S, president Fair Open Access Alliance.
Treasurer: Jos Baeten, professor of Theory of Computing at the University of Amsterdam, general director Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica, Amsterdam.
Member: Lieke Schultze, librarian Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica, Amsterdam.
Member: Jan Velterop, retired science publisher,
Member: Thed van Leeuwen, senior researcher CWTS, Leiden.

Advisory Board

Pierre Mounier, OpenEdition
Abel Packer, SciElo
Arianna Becerril-García, Redalyc
Maurits van der Graaf, Pleiade
Annika Jacobsen, LUMC
Jon Tennant, ✝ April 9, 2020


In 2016 an international expert workshop developed the QOAM Sustainability Plan which is still the leading strategy document, although the Base Score Cards in QOAM have been discarded.


Sponsored by, respectively (since 2013): SURF Foundation (€ 13.000), Stichting Pica (€ 50.000), Fair Open Access Alliance (€ 1200), Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica (€ 8900), Cente for Science and Technology Studies (€ 8000) In kind contribution (website hosting): Radboud University.


Herriot Watt University: JournalTOCs database (
Sergi Papaseit Valls: software development (CodeNamed).
SURFmarket, publishers and publishing platforms: data on journal publishing conditions.
Scientific and scholarly authors: journal score cards.

QOAM web sites: and
Contact: [email protected]